Raw Vegan Blackberry Banana Chip Ice Cream

Image

One of the things I miss the most as a vegan is ice cream and while I’ve managed to find some good brands of vegan ice cream, I don’t buy it that often and prefer making a vegan version by just blending up frozen bananas and adding my favorite ingredients.  This combination worked out particularly well and I hope you enjoy!

Ingredients

frozen bananas

tiny bit of almond milk

frozen blackberries

cacao nibs

Blend or food process the frozen bananas on high with a tablespoon or so (depending on how many bananas you are using) of almond milk until you have a creamy ice cream like mixture.  (You can always leave it like this, as it is delicious plain, or add flavors to it.)  Then add the blackberries and blend until only partially combined, so they color is purple but there are still pieces or chunks of blackberry here and there.  Then pour into a freezer safe container and make in cacao nibs.  Eat fresh or store in the freezer until ready to eat, taking out a little before hand to give the “ice cream” time to thaw.  

Image

I hope you enjoy! This is satisfyingly creamy and a great snack to have whenever desired.  Yesterday I had some after coming back from the gym and I topped it with some agave nectar and granola.  As always, be creative and enjoy!

 

One thought on “Raw Vegan Blackberry Banana Chip Ice Cream

  1. I love frozen banana ice cream! I have never added berries to it though – sounds great!

Leave a comment